Zampa replaces Lyon in Australia’s ODI squad

Melbourne, Jan 25 (IANS) Leg-spinner Adam Zampa replaced Nathan Lyon in Australia’s 14-member squad named by Cricket Australia (CA) on Monday for their three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against New Zealand.

CA’s National Selection Panel (NSP) named the squad that will contest the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy during their tour of New Zealand, beginning in Auckland on February 3. The series will then move to Wellington (February 6) and Hamilton (February 8) before the two-match Test series in Wellington and Christchurch.
The squad has one change from the 13 players included in the final ODI squad against India in Sydney on Saturday night with uncapped 23-year-old South Australian Zampa included in place of Lyon.
Josh Hazlewood makes up the squad, included in the side following his return from a period of rest after the first ODI against India in Perth.
“This squad remains largely unchanged after a fantastic series win against India. We have selected Adam Zampa as the spinning option for this tour in place of Nathan Lyon. Adam has certainly put forward a strong case for selection through good performances in the Big Bash League,” national selector Rod Marsh said.
“We know one of the biggest challenges we will face in New Zealand is adapting to the change in conditions. It has been well documented that this is something we have struggled with in recent times and a major focus for this squad will be to reverse that trend. New Zealand will be very tough to beat in their home conditions. We know we will need to be at the top of our game if we want to be competitive.”
The squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.