Uruguay announces World Cup team

Montevideo, May 30 (DPA) Uruguay Sunday announced final 23 members of their football World Cup squad travelling to South Africa in June.

Trainer Oscar Tabarez released the names after a friendly closed-door game between the national team and a selection of Uruguayan football professionals. The national team won 3-2.

The Charruas will fly to South Africa Friday, where they play their first game on June 11 against France in Group A.

The team members are:

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Lazio – Italy), Juan Castillo (Deportivo Cali – Colombia) und Martin Silva (Defensor Sporting – Uruguay)

Defenders: Diego Lugano (Fenerbahce – Turkey), Diego Godin (Villarreal – Spain), Andres Scotti (Colo Colo – Chile), Jorge Fucile (Porto – Portugal), Martin Caceres (Juventus – Italy),

Mauricio Victorino (Universidad de Chile), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica – Portugal).

Midfielders: Walter Gargano (Napoli – Italy), Egidio Arevalo Rios (Penarol – Uruguay), Sebastian Eguren (AIK Stockholm – Sweden), Diego Perez (Monaco – France), Alvaro Pereira (Porto – Portugal), Ignacio Gonzalez (Valencia – Spain), Nicolas Lodeiro (Ajax – Holland), Alvaro Fernandez (Universidad de Chile)

Forwards: Luis SuArez (Ajax – Holland), Diego Forlan (Atletico de Madrid – Spain), Sebastian Abreu (Botafogo – Brazil), Edinson Cavani (Palermo – Italy), Sebastian Fernandez (Banfield Argentina).