Peterhansel leads Dakar Rally post second leg

Buenos Aires, Jan 7 (IANS) France’s 11-time champion Stephane Peterhansel won the second leg of the 2014 Dakar Rally for Team Mini, becoming the leader of the overall ranking.

Peterhansel, six times champion on a motorcycle and five times in a car, won the second leg Monday between the Argentine cities of San Luis and San Rafael, followed by Spain’s Carlos Sainz (SMG), who was 28 seconds behind, and Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah (Mini), who trailed by four minutes and 10 seconds, reports Xinhua.
Meanwhile, 23-year-old British driver Sam Sunderland (Honda) for the first time won the second leg of the motorcycle race though Spain’s Joan Barreda (Honda) continues to lead the ranking with a time that is two minutes and three seconds ahead of Chile’s Francisco “Chaleco” Lopez (KTM), who finished second.
In the quad race, two-time champion and winner of 15 stages Marcos Patronelli (Yamaha) of Argentina won the second leg followed by his countryman Martin Boneto (Honda), behind by three minutes and 50 seconds.
The second leg covered 365 km of linking route plus 433 km of special route for a total of 798 km.