New Bangladesh lawmakers take oath

Dhaka, Jan 9 (IANS) Newly-elected lawmakers of Bangladesh’s 10th parliament, including ruling Awami League party chief Sheikh Hasina, were sworn in Thursday.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Choudhury administered the oath to the newly-elected members of parliament (MPs) at the Jatiya Sangsad, The Daily Star reported.
The swearing in ceremony was held even as a debate is going on whether the constitution allows the newly-elected lawmakers to take oath despite the current parliament being still in existence.
The MPs-elect from Jatiya Party, Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, Bangladesh Tariqat Federation and Bangladesh Nationalist Front, besides independent candidates, were sworn in phases.
A total of 292 lawmakers were elected in the Jan 5 elections. The voting was held in 147 constituencies, as the rest 153 constituencies went uncontested in the elections.
On Wednesday, the election commission published the results of the constituencies through a gazette notification.
According to the constitution, the newly-elected members of parliament are obliged to take oath within three days after the publication of gazette of the election results.
Repolling will be held Jan 16 in the remaining eight constituencies where polling was suspended at many centres due to violence.