Myanmar’s new parliament elects speaker of house

Nay Pyi Taw, Feb 3 (IANS) Myanmar’s new parliament on Wednesday elected U Mann Win Khaing Than as speaker of the House of Nationalities (Upper House) and U Aye Tha Aung as deputy speaker.

The election took place at the first session of the house, two days after the start of the session of the House of Representatives (lower house), Xinhua rteported.
U Mann Win Khaing Than from the National League for Democracy (NLD), who is a retired legal officer, was elected to the upper house from Kayin state constituency, while U Aye Tha Aung from the Arakan National Party is a Rakhine ethnic parliament representative.
A total of 223 MPs attended the first session chaired by U Zone Lal Htan of the NLD. It is part of the new parliament’s new session after the expiry of the previous term of the legislative body.
In the country’s general election held on November 8, 2015, the NLD, led by Aung San Suu Kyi, won absolute majority of the parliamentary seats.