McLaren, Parnell in SA Test squad for Australia series

Johannesburg, Jan 29 (IANS) South Africa Wednesday called up fast bowling all-rounders Ryan Mclaren and Wayne Parnell to the Proteas squad for the three-match Test series against Australia next month.

The national selectors have named a squad of 15 that sees the recall of Parnell and McLaren in the places of the retired Jacques Kallis and leg-spinner Imran Tahir.
Coincidentally, both all-rounders made their debut in the same Test match against England at the Wanderers Stadium in 2010, a match that South Africa won by an innings and 74 runs.
Parnell went on to play in South Africa’s next two Test matches in India and both players have been involved in several of South Africa’s Test squads abroad.
“We want to stay constant to the brand of cricket we have played over the last few years that has brought us such success,” commented Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson.
“I believe that this squad covers all possible options we may wish to exercise as well as the conditions we are likely to encounter.
“Two other players – Beuran Hendricks and Simon Harmer – will be joining the squad to assist with the preparation leading into the first Test match. They are both highly talented cricketers who will benefit from being introduced to the Proteas environment.”
South Africa squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile).