China’s Yangtze river delta now offers 144-hour visa-free entry

Beijing, Jan 26 (IANS) Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang will offer a 144-hour visa-free entry for international transit passengers from January 30, in renewed efforts to boost business and tourism.

The new policy, unveiled on Tuesday, covers travellers from 51 countries and regions, including the US, Russia, Britain, Australia, France and Japan, Xinhua quoted the public security ministry as saying on Tuesday.
They can enjoy a 144-hour stay in the Yangtze river delta upon entry via Shanghai’s air, sea and railway ports, Jiangsu province’s Nanjing Lukou International Airport, and Zhejiang province’s Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport, provided they have third country visas and tickets to leave the country or region within 144 hours.
Shanghai, Zhejiang’s capital Hangzhou and Jiangsu’s capital Nanjing have allowed 72-hour visa-free entry for international transit passengers since 2013.
Under the previous policy, transit passengers could only enter through the airports of the three cities and were not allowed to travel to areas outside of the city.
Apart from doubling the time of their transit stay, the new policy also allows international passengers to travel to all three provincial areas in the Yangtze river delta, an economic powerhouse in China.
The move signals intensified efforts to increase international tourism and commercial and trade cooperation as well as the flow of talent, the ministry said.