Narendra Modi was sworn in as prime minister for the third time, matching Jawaharlal Nehru’s record of three consecutive terms in the top office. His latest team, consisting of 71 members, is larger than his previous two administrations. Contrary to expectations, Modi faced little difficulty in forming the council of ministers despite leading a coalition government. The TDP and JD(U), chose not to create difficulties as speculated after the BJP was denied an absolute majority by the voters.