Ranji: Punjab score 659/7d, Sehwag ton takes Delhi to 425/6d

New Delhi, Dec 29 (IANS) Mandeep Singh (235), Yuvraj Singh (182) and Gurkeerat Singh (101) powered Punjab to 659 for seven declared during their Ranji Trophy match against Saurashtra in Rajkot while centuries from Virender Sehwag (105) and Unmukt Chand helped Delhi reach 425 for six declared against Gujarat at the Ferozeshah Kotla here Monday.

Punjab’s young right-hander Mandeep, who registered his second double century in his first class career, joined Yuvraj when the team’s scoreboard read 100 for three Sunday and the right-left combination forged a 379-run partnership to put the visitors in command. Young Gurkeerat notched up his second century. Saurashtra at the end of the second day’s play were 27 without loss.
In Delhi, Sehwag showed his class to guide the hosts to a commanding position. He hit 14 fours. Mithun Manhas (44) and Sumit Narwal (39) also contributed to push their team’s total to 425 for six before skipper Gautam Gambhir declared the innings. Gujarat reached 34 for one at stumps.
At the Chaudhary Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium in Lahli, Rohtak, Odisha took a crucial 105-run first innings lead as the visitors reached 232 for nine. Openers Natraj Behera (39) and Girija Rout (39) provided a good start but off-spinner Jayant Yadav’s six for 92 helped Haryana remain in contention.
Meanwhile, Bengal struggled in their reply to Mumbai’s 414 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Batsman Manoj Tiwary scored 63 for the eastern team but other batsmen completely struggled against pacer Shardul Thaukur, who took five for 37.
Brief Scores:
At Guwahati, Assam vs Himachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh 1st innings 549 for four declared (Ankush Bains 156, Paras Dogra 230) Assam 1st innings 18 for no loss.

At Kolkata, Bengal vs Mumbai, Mumbai 1st innings 414 all out (Shreyas Iyer 153, Abhishek Nayar 65; Veer Pratap Singh 3/114, Laxmi Shukla 3/58) Bengal 1st innings 130 for six ( Manoj Tiwary 63; Shardul Thakur 5/37).

At Delhi, Delhi vs Gujarat, Delhi 1st innings 425 for six declared (Unmukt Chand 105, Virender Sehwag 105; Jesal Karia 2/81) Gujarat 1st innings 34 for one.

At Rohtak, Haryana vs Odisha, Haryana 1st innings 127 all out (Abhimanyu Khod 38; Deepak Behera 3/33, Suryakant Pradhan 3/35) Odisha 1st innings 232 for nine (Natraj Behera 39, Girjia Rout 39; Jayant Yadav 6/91, Mohit Sharma 3/38).

At Hyderabad, Hyderabad vs Services, Services 1st innings 306 all out(Soumik Chatterjee 70, Deepak Punia 70; Akash Bhandari 4/75, Ashish Reddy 2/77) Hyderabad 1st innings 210 for three (Hanuma Vihari 114 not out; Roshan Raj 2/23).

At Dhanbad, Jharkhand vs Kerala, Jharkhand 1st innings 337 all out(Virat Singh 100, Kaushal Singh 53; Rohan Prem 3/45) Kerala 1st innings 179 for five( Sanju Samson 89; Rituraj Singh 3/38)

At Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh vs Baroda, Baroda 1st innings 358 all out (Saurabh Wakaskar 94, Deepak Hooda 85; Avesh Khan 3/34, Puneet Datey 5/101) Madhya Pradesh 1st innings 103 for three ( Jalaj Saxena 26; Sagar Mangalorkar 3/46)

At Jaipur, Rajasthan vs Vidarbha, Vidarbha 1st innings 296 (Shalabh Shrivastava 105, S. Badrinath 47; Pankaj Singh 5/109, Aniket Choudhury 3/69 ) Rajasthan 1st innings 188 all out ( Vineet Saxena 61; Ravikumar Thakur 5/50, Shrikant Wagh 3/42).

At Rajkot, Punjab vs Saurashtra, Punjab 1st innings 659 for seven declared (Mandeep Singh 235, Yuvraj 182; Sudeep Tyagi 2/51, Arpit Vasavada 3/85) Saurashtra 1st innings 27 for no loss.

At Chennai, Tamil Nadu vs Railways, Tamil Nadu 1st innings 144 for four (Abhinav Mukund 57; Ashish Yadav 2/49) 2nd day’s play called off due to rain.

At Agartala, Goa vs Tripura, Goa 1st innings 251 all out (Reagan Pinto 82, Amogh Sunil Desai 60; Rana Dutta 6/64) Tripura 1st innings 139 for five (Rakesh Solanki 43; Amit Yadav 3/27)

At Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh vs Jammu and Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh 1st innings 267 for five (Tanmay Srivastava 99, Akash Verma 57; Waseem Raza 2/43).