Siachen avalanche tragedy: Names of deceased soldiers released

Jammu, Feb 5 (IANS) The army on Friday released the names of its 10 soldiers who were buried in an avalanche on Siachen Glacier of Jammu and Kashmir’s Ladakh region on Wednesday.

Colonel S.D. Goswami, spokesman of the army’s Udhampur-headquartered Northern Command, told IANS here that the operation to retrieve bodies “is continuing with additional specialised equipment and teams deployed at the site of the avalanche of February 3″.
The 10 soldiers buried in the avalanche are: Subedar Nagesha TT, resident of village Tejur, Hassan district Karnataka; Havaldar Elum alai M, resident of village Dukkam Parai, Vellore district, Tamil Nadu; Lance Havildar S. Kumar, resident of village Kumanan Thozhu, Teni district, Tamil Nadu; Lance Naik Sudheesh B, resident of village Monroethuruth, Kollam district, Kerala; Lance Naik Hanamanthappa Koppad, resident of village Betadur, Dharwad district, Karnataka; Sepoy Mahesha PN, resident of village HD Kote, Mysore district, Karnataka; Sepoy Ganesan G, resident of village Chokkathevan Patti, Madurai district, Tamil Nadu; Sepoy Rama Moorthy N, resident of village Gudisa tana Palli, Krishna Giri district, Tamil Nadu; Sepoy Mustaq Ahmed S, resident of village Parnapalle, Kurnool district, Andhra Pradesh; and Sepoy Nursing Assistant Suryawanshi SV, resident of village Maskarwadi, Satara district, Maharashtra.”