Rajeev Kumar named new Kolkata police commissioner

Kolkata, Jan 29 (IANS) West Bengal’s Additional Director General, CID, Rajeev Kumar, was on Friday named as the new Kolkata police commissioner.

He will be replacing Surajit Kar Purakayastha who is slated to take over as the director general, CID.
According to a notification by the sate home department, the other major reshuffle in the IPS cadre in West Bengal includes Soumen Mitra, now the special commissioner of police, Kolkata, replacing Rajeev Kumar, while Inspector General of Police (II) CID, Vineet Kumar Goyal, will take over from Mitra.
West Midnapore Superintendent of Police, Bharati Ghosh, has been named as Officer on Special Duty, Left Wing Extremism.