Naidu, Naqvi, Rudy among BJP candidates for Rajya Sabha

New Delhi, May 28 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Friday decided to renominate party leaders Venkaiah Naidu, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Rajiv Pratap Rudy to the Rajya Sabha.

The meeting of the party’s central election committee, presided over by its president Nitin Gadkari, decided the names of six party candidates for biennial elections to the upper house.

While Naidu has been renominated from Karnataka, Naqvi will be the party candidate from Uttar Pradesh and Rudy from Bihar.

Ayanur Manjunath will be the party’s second candidate from Karnataka. The party has decided to field Piyush Goyal from Maharashtra and Nandkumar Sai from Chhattisgarh.

The central election committee meeting was attended by chairman of the BJP Parliamentary Party L.K. Advani, Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley and all members of the committee.

The party also finalised nine candidates for the biennial election to the state legislative council of four states.