Lalu Prasad files nomination from Patliputra

Patna, April 17 (Inditop) Railway Minister and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Friday filed his nomination papers from Bihar’s Patliputra constituency for the Lok Sabha polls.

Lalu Prasad filed his papers at the district administration office here. Ignoring the scorching heat, hundreds of party workers waited for the minister for hours and shouted slogans in his support.

Lalu Prasad is also contesting from Saran, which went to the polls Thursday in the first phase of the general elections for 13 of the state’s 40 constituencies.

After filing his nomination papers, Lalu Prasad said he would win from both seats as people were with him.

Bihar’s ruling Janata Dal-United has fielded former RJD MP Ranjan Prasad Yadav, who was a close friend of Lalu Prasad till few years ago, from Patliputra.

The Congress has also fielded a former RJD MP, Vijay Singh Yadav, in the largely rural constituency, which will go to the polls May 7.

Ironically, it was Vijay Singh Yadav who had declared that Lalu Prasad would contest from Patliputra as well as Saran.

The railway minister currently represents Chapra in the Lok Sabha. This constituency has been named Saran after delimitation.

Till last week, Vijay Singh Yadav was seen campaigning for Lalu Prasad in Patliputra.

In 2004, Lalu Prasad had won the Chapra seat, defeating former Minister of Civil Aviation and BJP’s spokesman Rajiv Pratap Rudy. He also won from Madhepura seat but later retained Chapra.