Jayanarayan Mishra to head BJP in Odisha assembly

Bhubaneswar, March 24 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Odisha unit Sunday appointed former minister Jayanarayan Mishra as its leader of its legislature party.

“The party appointed Jayanarayan Mishra after approval by the central leadership,” a party spokesman told IANS.
Mishra, 50, is a three-time legislator from Sambalpur constituency. He was a minister of state in the Biju Janata Dal-BJP coalition government from 2004 to 2008, and handled portfolios of commerce and transport, labour and employment.
He succeeds Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo who was appointed as the state unit chief recently.
The BJP has six members in the 147-member assembly.