DMK announces candidates for by-polls

Chennai, Nov 24 ( Tamil Nadu’s ruling DMK party Tuesday announced Kamalakannan and Anita Radhakrishnan as its candidates for Vandavasi and Tiruchendur constituencies, where by-polls are scheduled Dec 19.

The by-elections were necessitated following the death of Vandavasi’s sitting legislator Jayaraman (DMK) early this month and the resignation of Tiruchendur’s Anita Radhakrishnan, who switched sides from the AIADMK to the DMK.

The AIADMK had Monday announced its candidates. The two communist parties – Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) – have decided to extend support to AIADMK this time. Both had contested the August by-polls that were boycotted by AIADMK.

At that time, the communist parties said their alliance forged with AIADMK during the Lok Sabha elections was only an electoral alliance.

Meanwhile, the DMDK led by Vijayakant is yet to announce its candidates for the two constituencies while PMK leader S. Ramadoss wants an undertaking from Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi that the polls will be held in a fair manner for his party to contest.

Not part of the DMK or AIADMK alliance, the PMK will find it an uphill task to take on the two parties as well as DMDK on its own.