DMDK legislators’ suspension reduced to six months

Chennai, March 26 (IANS) The Tamil Nadu assembly Tuesday halved to six months the suspension of six legislators of the main opposition DMDK for attacking a rebel member in the house last month.

Raising the issue, members of the various parties appealed for reduction in the suspension period as the members are first-timers.
Following Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa’s approval and also in deference to the appeal, the House adopted a resolution to reduce the period of suspension to six months from the earlier one year.
The six DMDK legislators who were handed out the suspension Monday for attacking rebel member S. Michael Rayappan in the assembly are: V.C. Chandirakumar, K. Nallathambi, D. Murugesan, S. Senthil Kumar, B. Parthasarathy and R. Arulselvan.
However, not satisfied with the reduction, the DMK staged a walkout while DMDK boycotted the proceedings in protest.
In a statement, DMDK leader A. Vijayakanth said the suspension of legislators is undemocratic.
While the AIADMK has a strength of 150 (excluding the speaker) in the 235-member house, the DMDK has 29 legislators and the DMK 23.