Court notice to government, police over drowning of Delhi boys

New Delhi, Feb 2 (IANS) The Delhi High Court on Tuesday issued notice to the Delhi government and Delhi Police on a PIL by an AAP legislator who sought a judicial probe into the death from drowning of two students in two different schools.

The Delhi High Court issued notice to the city government, Delhi Police, SDMC and Ryan International School on the PIL that sought a judicial inquiry into the death of a six-year-old Class I student in the premises of the private school last week.
A division bench of Chief Justice G. Rohini and Justice Jayant Nath also sought response from Delhi Disaster Management and MCD school in Kapashera area of south Delhi where a five-year-old boy, Ankit, died after falling into an open septic tank on January 27.
“Its very, very unfortunate. It’s a matter which needs consideration. File status report on the action taken by all the concerned authorities and also the proposed action plan to ensure no such incidents happen again,” said the bench posting the matter for February 9.
The public interest litigation (PIL) was filed by AAP legislator Col. Devinder Sehrawat (retd.) seeking a judicial inquiry into the death of both the kids.
Devansh Meena, the class I student in Ryan International School in Vasant Kunj, was inside the septic tank till sewage workers reached there and fished him out. Police have registered a case of negligence against the authorities in south Delhi and asked the principal to join the probe.
The school authorities reportedly did not inform the student’s family about the January 30 incident for over two hours.
Sehrawat also sought similar inquiry into the death of Ankit after falling into an open septic tank in an MCD school in Kapashera area. The petition has sought direction for payment of Rs.50 lakh each as compensation to the families of the children.
Besides the judicial inquiry, Sehrawat has also asked the high court to pass an order for immediate disaster assessment of all the schools in Delhi by a committee comprising of the representatives of the Delhi government, civic officials, disaster management authority and the Delhi Police.