AIADMK announces candidates for Tamil Nadu by-polls

Chennai, Nov 23 (  AIADMK general secretary J. Jayalalithaa Monday announced P. Munusamy and Amman T. Narayanan as the party’s candidates for Tamil Nadu’s Vandavasi and Tiruchendur constituencies for which by-polls will be held Dec 19.

After boycotting the August by-polls held for five assembly seats in Tamil Nadu, AIADMK is now gearing up for a fierce fight against DMK and has in fact postponed some part of its organisational elections due to the by-polls.

The by-elections were necessitated following the death of sitting DMK legislator Jayaraman representing Vandavasi early this month and the resignation of Tiruchendur legislator Anitha Radhakrishnan, who switched sides to DMK from AIADMK.

Congress and MDMK have announced their decision to work for the success of DMK and AIADMK candidates respectively in the two constituencies.

The state’s ruling DMK is in the process of selecting its candidates.