34 Bihar legislators yet to declare assets

Patna, Jan 31 (IANS) Even a month after the deadline expired, 34 legislators in Bihar are yet to declare their assets. And most of them are from the ruling Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and BJP combine.

The guilty legislators include Public Accounts Committee chairman Lalit Kumar Yadav, and former ministers Raghvendra Pratap Singh and Ram Lashan Ram Raman.
The others who have not given details of their assets are from Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the Congress and independents.
All legislators had detailed their assets when they filed their nomination in 2010.
But determined to root out corruption, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar made it mandatory for all legislators to declare their assets annually.
“I will submit details of my assets this weekt,” RJD’s Lalit Kumar Yaday told IANS Tuesday.
Bhagirathi Devi of the Bharatiya Janata Party promised to do so within two or three days. “I was out of Patna for a long time,” she said.
However, all 73 members of the Bihar Legislative Council have submitted details of their assets.