Train attack is ninth major Maoist strike this year

New Delhi, May 28 (IANS) The train derailment, which led to the death of 65 people in West Bengal Friday and is blamed on Maoist insurgents, is the ninth major strike by the rebels since February this year and third attack on trains this month. At least 216 people have been killed in the series of attacks.

Following is the chronology of recent major attacks by the rebels active in central and eastern India:

May 28: At least 65 people were killed after a passenger train was derailed and hit by a speeding goods train in West Bengal’s West Midnapore district. Officials blamed Maoists for the sabotage that led to the derailment.

May 22: A civilian and a policeman, travelling in the Tatanagar-bound Steel Express, were injured in an exchange of fire between Maoists and security forces at Banstala station in West Midnapore.

May 20: Fourteen oil tankers of a goods train were derailed after Maoists blew up railway lines between Dighwara and Pipra stations in Bihar.

May 19: Maoists triggered a landmine blast on railway tracks near Jhargram in West Midnapore district injuring two drivers of a goods train and leaving the engine damaged.

May 17: Over 30 Special Police Officers and civilians were killed when Maoists triggered a landmine blowing up a civilian bus in Dantewada district of Chhattisgarh.

May 8: At least eight paramilitary troopers were killed when Maoists blew up their bullet-proof vehicle in Bijapur district of Chhattisgarh.

April 6: Seventy-six security personnel were killed in one of the deadliest attacks by Maoists in Dantewada district.

April 4: A landmine planted by the leftist guerrillas killed 11 security personnel of the elite anti-Maoist Special Operations Group (SOG) of police in Koraput district of Orissa.

Feb 15: Maoists attacked security force camp in Silda in West Midnapore of West Bengal killing 24 personnel of the Eastern Frontier Rifles (EFR).