Justice Dinakaran loses race to apex court

New Delhi, Nov 16 (Inditop.com) The Karnataka High Court’s Chief Justice P.D. Dinakaran has lost his race to the Supreme Court, at least for the present.

Chief Justice of India K.G. Balakrishnan is all set to administer the oath of office to four other chief justices of various high courts. Their names were proposed to the government for appointments to the apex court, along with Justice Dinakaran.

The four chief justices who will be sworn-in to the Supreme Court are: A.K. Patnaik of the Madhya Pradesh High Court, T.S. Thakur of the Punjab and Haryana High Court, S.S. Nijjar of the Calcutta High Court, and K.S. Radhakrishnan of the Gujarat High Court.

The four judges will be sworn in on Tuesday at 10.30 a.m.

A panel of the apex court’s five senior-most judges, headed by Chief Justice of India Balakrishnan, earlier also recommended Justice Dinakaran for elevation to the apex court.

However, the panel later suspended the move to elevate Justice Dinakaran to the apex court after the District Collector of Tiruvallur reportedly indicted him for illegally possessing approximately 500 acres of land at Kaverirajapuram in Tiruttani taluk in Tamil Nadu.

A section of Karnataka lawyers also launched an agitation against Justice Dinakaran.